High Spirited Sree's blog

Murukku (chakli)

Posted on: July 29, 2009

Its winter here in Mauritius. It keeps drizzling and theres wind too. It reminds Ram and me of our Ooty trip, the one we enjoyed the most.

It really does feel nice to watch the rain, it keeps the mind so fresh and young. If handed with a plate of some savory item, what more can you ask🙂. Last week Ram wanted to have some crispy snacks in the evening.

So I just browsed for what snacks to make and I came across Murukku. Its something Dad devours and always asks Mom to prepare when it started to rain. I remember when I was a kid, Dad used to watch the weather forecast daily and if a heavy rain was predicted, he used to take leave and sit and wait for the rain. He just loves rain.

So I did prepare Murukku the other day. I actually got the recipe from different sites on searching for Murukku. The problem was with the ingredients, I didnt have all the stuff any particular site suggested, so I made it in a combination way with the available resources. I guess I used very less ingredients and it was quite simple too.

I couldnt make it into the desired spiral shape. I guess my water quantity was less , but we both were happy with result and it tasted real gud too. We shared it with our landlady and her daughters and they too loved it.

Recipe:

Rice flour (ari podi) : 1 cup
Besan (kadala mavu) : 1/4 cup
Urad dal(uzhunu parippu): 1/4 cup
Cumin seeds (jeerakam) : 1tsp
Chillly powder (mulaku podi): 1 tsp
Butter- 2tsp
Hing/Asafoetida/Kayam : a pinch
Salt: 1/2 tsp

– Fry urad dal till color changes to light brown
– let it cool and then grind and powder it
– mix everything except butter thoroughly
– heat butter and add to the mixture
– then add water and make a dough like chapathi dough consistency
– use a murukku maker/seva nazhi and press it on to spiral shape.
(I just made small length pieces Its easier!!)
– Press the dough on to a plate
– heat oil in kadai/wok
– fry the Murukku on low flame initially, once brown and cooked take it out.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,109 hits
