High Spirited Sree's blog

Diwali-2008

Posted on: August 1, 2009

Location : Religion / Occasions / Diwali-2008

IMG_1200IMG_1117

Diwali is a major festival for Hindus all around the globe. Sweets, diyas(earthern lamps) and crackers are sine qua non for this festival.

In Mauritius, the houses are decorated with running lights. My landlady told me, people here spent around 10K-12K Rupees in decorating their houses with lights. Diyas, crackers, sweets are all readily available. I even saw shops selling sweet boxes separately.
IMG_1130

Kerala is the only state in India were Diwali is celebrated in a low key and not many Indians know this fact. But I love all festivals especially Diwali and Christmas, because of the vibrant colours and mood.

I prepared sweets 2 weeks back itself. I prepared Milk pedas, rasmalai, kaju katli and coconut burfi. But it got over before Diwali itself. Then on eve of Diwali, I made coconut burfi and boli.
I will include the recipes later. Mainly because I never keep a track on the quantity of ingredients I add, instead I trust my taste buds and the aroma of food for it. So once I start keeping track of the quantity ill definitely include the recipes.
IMG_1138IMG_0648

We drew kolam (rangoli) in the morning itself. Ram was the head designer. Drawing a kolam was our first attempt, so we gave it a finishing touch too and decorated it with flowerrs and lights . Lunch was elaborate with chole fry, paneer masala, paratha, rice, palak dal, moong dal in coconut and boli. In the evening we lighted diyas and lighted sparklers.
IMG_1145IMG_1144

Diwali in Bangalore used to be the festival of noise. We enjoyed our first Diwali in Mauritius.
IMG_1219IMG_1195

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,109 hits
