High Spirited Sree's blog

Karkadaka Masam

Posted on: August 1, 2009

Location : Religion / Occasions / Karkadaka Masam

ramayana1Karkadaka Masam (Jul17-Aug16, 2009) – the last month of Malayalam Hindu calendar is also known as ‘Ramayanam Masam’ (month of Ramayana). A part of Ramayana is read everyday and completed by the end of the month, in every hindu household and temples in Kerala.

I had stayed in Kerala during my Engineering days. I loved this month for its holiness. It always felt auspicious to listen to experienced person reciting the epic everyday. In most of the temples on the last day of the month, the complete Ramayanam is read from morning to evening. People take turns to help out each other, but the recitation doesn’t stop. I remember helping my aunts prepare tea and snacks for the elders reciting in my family temple.

Ramayana is read every evening at all my relatives house. In case elders cannot manage, cousins takeover for a couple of days. I guess I was the only one then who never read it.

Its not that I wasn’t interested but having done my schooling in Dubai, my fluency in Malayalam is not up to the mark. I did learn Malayalam language till my 7th grade, but then skipped it from my language options as it proved difficult for me.

Adhyatma Ramayanam Kilippattu written by Thunchath Ezhuthachan is the most famous Malayalam version of the Epic Ramayan and this is chosen for recitation at all my relatives places.

I normally read only the English version of most of the religious books and a few Sanskrit version for the daily prayers. Couple of months back itself i started reading the Malayalam version of Bhagavad Gita and Lalitha Sahasranam.

So now I started reading the Ramayanam. I also managed to find a site rendering audio version of Adhyatma Ramayanam.

🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,109 hits
