High Spirited Sree's blog

Stuffed potatoes in cashew gravy

Posted on: August 11, 2009

Location:  Culinary / Main dishes / Stuffed potatoes in cashew gravy

Last week while I was chatting with my friend Swati, she mentioned that her sis would be visiting her. So Swati was planning to make so many nice dishes. I hadnt heard of those dishes so she shared the links of the recipe too. Everything looked so tempting, if only I was in US living next to her!! Well  I couldnt control my craving so I decided to prepare one of the dishes too.  Lucknowi Bharwan aloo looked most tempting. The original lucknowi bharwan aloo recipe by Sanjeev kapoor.

But I actually made a variation to the original.  I only took the idea of stuffing potatoes (aloo). Actually we prefer spicy food and I dont like nuts and fruits in pieces in the main dish.

So this is how I prepared the dish and it was really very tasty. Well im sure to prepare similar gravy again for other dishes!! The stuffed potato looked more like halved egg pieces

For making paneer:

This I learnt from my colleague Jyotshna. I normally buy paneer, once I did try making paneer with lemon juice.  It didnt turn out nice. Jyotshna had suggested making paneer by adding vinegar to milk. So a big thanks to Jyotshna!!

milk – 2 cups

white vinegar – 2 tblsp

– boil milk

– when it starts boiling add vinegar and stir the milk

– the paneer starts separating from the milk.

– now let it cool

– then strain the water away using a muslin cloth. I normally use a strainer😉

– If I need paneer in cubes, I place the paneer in a container tightly pressed down and keep it in fridge. I then use it the next day and cut it in cubes. It tastes real nice and soft.

For stuffed Potatoes:

potatoes – 4 medium sized peeled and halved

green chilly – 2 nos

onion – 1 small (chopped finely)

paneer – made from 2 cups of milk

tumeric powder – 1/2 tsp

cumin seeds/jeera – 1/2 tsp

chilly powder – 1/2 tsp

cumin/jeera powder – 1/2 tsp

salt – 1/2 tsp

oil- 1 tbsp and for deep frying

–  scoop out the center of the potatoes. I used a peeler to scoop the center out

– heat oil in a wok/kadai  and deep fry potatoes till light brown

– keep aside the fried potatoes

– heat pan and add 1 tbsp oil

– add cumin seeds and saute for a few secs

– then add onion and green chilly and saute for a few min till onion turns slightly brown

–  add salt, chilly powder, turmeric and cumin powder

–  turn off the flame and mix with paneer

– now stuff this in the fried potatoes. Press firmly with your fingers

IMG_3325

For preparing gravy:

onions –  3 medium sized ( finely chopped)

green chilly – 2 nos

tomato ketchup – 2 tbsp

cashew nuts – 50 gm

cumin seeds/jeera – 1 tsp

cumin powder – 1/2 tsp

chilly powder – 1 tsp

garam masala – 3/4 tsp

coriander powder – 1 tsp

turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp

oil – 1 tbsp

– soak cashew nuts in water for 15 min

– make a paste out of cashews by adding little water

– heat oil in pan and add jeera and saute for a few sec

– now add onion and green chilly and saute till dark brown

– then add salt, cumin powder, chilly powder, coriander powder, turmeric powder and garam masala

– saute for few sec and then add ketchup and mix well

– add 1 cup water and let it boil

– then add cashew paste and mix well

– now slowly place the stuffed potatoes in the gravy

IMG_3326

– make sure theres enough water as the gravy tends to thicken because of cashew paste added.

– close and simmer for 15 min

– garnish with coriander leaves

We had it with moong dal puri.

3 Responses to "Stuffed potatoes in cashew gravy"

It looks sooo yummy yummy!!!!good work!!!

Yes, it was really good. I would have asked Sanjeev Kapoor to try it…even he would have appreciated.

Why don’t u try it and let Jebin comment ?🙂

hey this is not fair…….looks too yummy ……u r temping my tummy.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 26,109 hits
