High Spirited Sree's blog

Rasmalai

Posted on: August 19, 2009

Location: Culinary / Sweets / Rasmalai

IMG_3393

I love all Bengali sweets!! Most of them are made of paneer(cottage cheese).  But I make a few Bengali sweets with other ingredients to replace paneer 😉

This recipe I learned from my cousin Naomi. Its simple!!

milk powder – 1 cup

egg – 1

baking powder – 1/2 tsp

milk – 4 cups

sugar – 8-12 tbsp

saffron – 8-10 strands

yellow color – 1/2 tsp

– boil milk with saffron and yellow food color added

– beat the egg well (put it in mixie/blender for 2 sec,  will also do)

– add the milk powder and baking powder to it

– mix well to make a dough, not very sticky. add more milk powder if required

– make small flat balls (make sure the surface looks similar to the pic below..not very sticky)

IMG_3377IMG_3380

– carefully place the balls into boiling milk

– close and let it simmer for 2 mins

– the balls will become large

IMG_3381

– turn off flame and keep aside for cooling.

– keep it in fridge and have it chilled.

– garnish with finely chopped pistachios (I didnt have pistachios so I skipped it :-))

IMG_3390

3 Responses to "Rasmalai"

wow….must be really tasty….wish mauritius was near texas 🙂

hehe, its simple u can try preparing it yaar.. and I would too love to be near any place whr someone would pamper me with their home made food 😉

Hmmmmm….yummy …..am gonna try it……

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 36,252 hits